It started last night. This dull ache right under my ribs. This feeling that I'm not ready and that I've forgotten everything. The plan was to go to bed early and get some rest and hopefully be over this wicked cold that I've been fighting all week. Instead, I went into the bathroom and frantically scribbled down everything I could think of that I needed and that needed to be done before we left to stay the night at my mom's.
Please ignore the wet tri suit hanging from the curtain rod
That seemed to help calm my nerves until I talked to Bike Mom at church. Then it started again and its slowly getting worse. Luckily Momacita and Grigio (My Mom and Stepdad) is letting us crash at their house otherwise I would be worrying half the night!
Well...We're here. We've eaten a delicious pasta dinner (thanks Big Man!) and Little Man is sound asleep in the pack and play. And what you might ask am I doing? Guzzling gallons of water and posting on my blog. Pretty much anything I can to keep my mind off the race! The pain has subsided but I fear a recurrence once I try to go to bed.
I've learned that there are only 2 only women in my age group, which means a medal for sure but I'm not happy with just a bronze medal, I want at least a silver, if not gold! I was checking my old times and I drove the bike course and I'm fairly certain that I can cut 10 minutes off my time without too much effort (which means a 37 minute finish) but what if I could cut 7 more minutes off and make it a 30 minute finish and what if I take first in my age!?! SEE? SEE! This is why I'm getting an ulcer and this pain won't go away until tomorrow after the race. My stupid brain won't shut off! AAAHHHH!!!








